drinking culture

Standard

Sometimes I think I see all the advertisements for alcohol because I am hypeScreen Shot 2017-04-12 at 10.55.56 PMr aware of anything booze related. It’s like there is this voice in your head screaming at you to
100% not think about “it” and therefore it is all you can see. Scrolling through my Facebook feed last night and I realized there are so many adverts for the sauce. T-shirts with silly “wine mom” sayings. I drink because of work memes. Hell, even shirts with “funny” sayings about destroying your liver 😯

An average of 88,000 people will die this year from alcohol. That doesn’t include the almost 10,000 people who will die from drinking and driving (that is 31% of all driving deaths incase you were wondering). Almost 100,000 people from a substance that is sold at ever corner store. From a substance that is celebrated on your 21st birthday. That is 100,000 preventable deaths. Yes I am aware that not everyone is an alcoholic. That there are in fact responsible drinkers. People

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 10.57.17 PM

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 10.50.13 PM who will never get behind the wheel after they have been drinking. People who will have two drinks and call it a night. But there are people who can’t. Or won’t. There are addicts. And it is time we get vocal about that. Stop the culture that says getting wasted every weekend is funny. Stop saying moms “need” or “deserve” wine because raising kids is hard. It is time we start telling our friends and family, “Hey you might have a real
problem, maybe you should get some help” and then show them where to get that help. Time we start normalizing NOT DRINKING. Brunch dates sans mimosas and parties that don’t include overflowing cups of booze.

Let’s make it ok to be sober in social gatherings. Stop normalizing booze as a lubrication needed to interact with your fellow human beings.

 

2 thoughts on “drinking culture

  1. My step mom is a nightly wine drinker. When I lived with her and my dad last year, I decided to get sober. Even after I did this, and made it clear to them that I wasn’t drinking, she persisted in sharing “funny” wine memes with me. She would show me all of the little wine-centric trinkets and doo-dads she found at the store – like a wine stopper with an LED light in it, that illuminates the bottle from inside. Maybe it’s to help you see how much you’re actually drinking, I dunno. For Christmas, she got my boyfriend, my brother and his fiancee all the same travel mug, but instead of being a regular travel mug, it was a travel mug that could hide an entire beer bottle inside it, that would keep it from spilling if turned upside down. I mean, how fucked is that?

    I get your frustrations with drinking culture. I had a lot of the same feelings when I first got sober. It’s like, WHY. Why do we have to do this? Why do we let ourselves get bamboozled so easily? Why can’t people see how messed up the mommy drinks and the nightly bottle of wine and the weekend warrior concepts are? It’s maddening. But then, when I drank, I thought those things were fun/funny/true as well. I felt like I deserved every drop for how hard I worked and how stressed I was, or because it was a celebration, or because Tuesday, etc. etc.

    I’ve found that people who are in the throes of it are really hard to get through to. Not impossible, but they usually shut down when the sober person in the room starts talking about how bad alcohol is for them and how drinking culture is a death spiral.

    I think writing here is a good thing. It helps newcomers see the light and reinforces the sober culture for people who are already here. And I love your idea of refusing to continue normalizing drinking culture. You’re ambitious.

    For me, I’ve found that setting a sober example has been most powerful for enacting change. I don’t live my life perfectly and I’m still prone to stress, anxiety, depression, etc., but I can help get rid of this idea that sobriety is boring and drinking is the answer by leading a sober life that others will see as just-as-fulfilling. I can model what a sober person looks like: not some decrepit, sad, lonely old hack, but a productive and thoughtful member of society.

    Anyway, that was kind of a ramble. Sorry. I’m happy to see that your eyes are so open to this cultural problem, and that you take it seriously. You’re right that we have to start doing something about it before the problem gets worse and worse.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. The store I work at sells things with these sayings on them, and I used to think some of them were funny. There was a coffee mug once that said “this isn’t vodka” and i thought I would never want that because then someone might think to check, but now i want it because i want the world to know it’s not vodka, it’s coffee. i’m not hiding anything. It’s an important perspective shift when you start noticing how ridiculous it all is, and that the alcohol advertisers never show the brutal true impact of drinking all the time.
    I’m so thankful we can see that we don’t need alcohol. Those words still feel weird coming out of me. I don’t need a glass of wine at the end of a long day. I don’t need poison to celebrate events with my family.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

